Postscript Credits

Tip: Select any of the images or GIFs in this article for a closer look.

At Postscript, we use credits to determine the cost of each sent message. You can view how many credits you've used and how many are still available in your billing cycle in the top menu of your Postscript dashboard.

Message Types and Credits


Certain messages will cost more than one credit depending on the message type and character count.

Message Type Credits Character Count
  SMS message 1   Up to 160 plain text characters
  SMS message with emojis 1   Up to 70 plain text characters and emojis
  MMS message 3   Up to 1600 characters with text and an image or GIF
  International SMS 10   Up to 160 plain text characters, or 70 plain text characters and emojis

Learn more about the impact of emojis and special characters on message credits here.

International Messages

Countries outside of the United States (US) and Canada are considered international. Whether Postscript considers an SMS message international depends on the location of the subscriber, not the store sending the message.

For example:

  • If you are an Australian store sending to a US or Canada subscriber, the message will cost 1 credit. Here, the subscriber is not international. 
  • If you are a store in the US or Canada sending a message to an Australian subscriber, the message will cost 10 credits. Here, the subscriber is international because they are outside the US or Canada.
  • If you are an Australian store sending to an Australian subscriber, the message will cost 10 credits. Here, the subscriber is international because they are outside the US or Canada.

Due to international carries and rates, we cannot send international MMS messages at this time.

Add Credits


If you find yourself in need of more credits during your current cycle, you always have the option to upgrade your plan. You can view your current plan and additional plan options in your account settings. Select your store name in the top menu, then select Account from the drop-down list.

Navigate to the Plan tab to view your current usage, days remaining in your billing cycle, and upgrade options.

When you upgrade your plan, new credits are immediately available for use. Postscript only bills you the difference between your former plan and the upgraded plan.

Say you're currently at the $50 plan which gives you 5,000 credits a month. You've sent 4,813 credits worth of messages but have 17 days left in your billing cycle. You can upgrade to the $100 plan with 10,000 credits a month, and two things will happen:

  • You'll see an additional 5,000 credits added to your plan, and
  • You'll be billed $50, which is the difference between your last plan and your upgraded plan.

Rollover Credits


Unused credits from a previous billing cycle will roll over into your current billing cycle. Rollover credits only apply to those credits from your previous cycle and not unused credits from cycles before your previous cycle.

Postscript will use your regular plan credits to send campaigns, automations, and additional messaging for your current billing cycle. Once you have exhausted these credits, then Postscript will use your rollover credits. 

If you rolled over credits from a previous billing cycle, then you will see a vertical white line in your credits bar at the top of the page. This line indicates the point at which Postscript will begin using your rollover credits.

You can hover your cursor over the white line to view the exact number of credits you rolled over from your last cycle. Postscript factors this amount into the total number of available credits that appears to the right of the credit bar.

Let's take a quick look at how rollover credits work:

  • Say our shop has 10,000 credits a cycle.
  • In our first billing cycle, we send 8,250 messages. That means we have 1,750 credits to roll over into our next billing cycle.
  • In our second billing cycle, we send 11,500 messages. That means Postscript used our standard 10,000 credits plus 1,500 of our unused credits.
  • While we have 250 remaining credits that rolled over from the first billing cycle, these credits won't roll over into the third billing cycle because we can only roll over credits from the previous cycle.
  • Since we used all of our standard 10,000 credits in the second cycle, we have no unused credits to roll over into the third.

Get Support


Have questions? Please feel free to reach out to our wonderful Support team at support@postscript.io or via live chat. You can also submit a support request here!

Need ongoing channel strategy guidance? Please fill out this form and we'll connect you to one of our certified partners.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful